Back to overview

Recognition Of Foreign Diplomas And Qualifications In Cyprus

Bookmark and Share

Information on recognising foreign diplomas and qualifications in Cyprus

Monagri Village                   Photo ©

Recognition of diplomas and qualifications

Obtaining recognition of qualifications and competences can play a vital role in a person’s decision to take up work in another EU country. Unfortunately different education and training systems often make it difficult for employers and institutions to properly assess qualifications.
Recognising professional qualifications

As a basic principle, EU citizens should be able to practise their profession in any other Member State. In reality, differing national requirements block access to certain professions in the host country.
To address these differences, the EU has established a system to recognise professional qualifications. Within this system, a distinction is made between regulated professions (professions for which certain qualifications are legally required) and professions that are not legally regulated in a host Member State.
The European Commission has established a set of instruments to ensure greater transparency and recognition of qualifications, both for academic and professional purposes:

The European Qualifications Framework (EQF).

The main objective of the framework is to create links between different national qualification systems in order to make it easier to recognise diplomas. Individuals and employers will be able to use the EQF to better understand and compare qualifications attained in different countries. Countries will be able to relate their qualification systems to the EQF – and from 2012 all new qualifications can carry a reference to an EQF level.

The National Academic Recognition Information Centres (NARICs).

A network of National Academic Recognition Information Centres was established in 1984 at the initiative of the European Commission. The NARICs provide advice on the academic recognition of periods of study abroad. Located in all EU Member States as well as in the countries of the European Economic Area, NARICs play a vital role the process of recognising qualifications.

The European Credit Transfer System (ECTS).

This system aims to make it easier to recognise periods of study abroad. It allows for the transfer of learning between different educational institutions and offers a flexible way to gain a degree.


Europass is an instrument for ensuring the transparency of professional skills. It is composed of five standardised documents: a CV (Curriculum Vitae); a language passport; certificate supplements; diploma supplements; and a Europass-Mobility document. The Europass system makes skills and qualifications clearly and easily understood in different parts of Europe. National Europass centres have been established in every country of the EU and the European Economic Area.

The Commission’s Database on regulated professions includes a searchable list of regulated professions in the EU Member States, EEA countries and Switzerland, plus contact points and information about competent authorities.

Source European Union