Back to overview

Cyprus State Universities

Bookmark and Share

Information on the state universities in Cyprus

Kouka Village                                                      Photo ©

The main objectives of the University of Cyprus are twofold: the promotion of academic achievement and education through teaching and research, and the enhancement of the cultural, social and economic development of Cyprus.  The research programs conducted at the University cover a wide range of fields that relate to specializations and departments presently in operation. They are funded either through the University’s budget or by funding agencies in Cyprus or abroad.

The University is widely recognized as an agent of change for the educational and cultural life of the country. With its brief seventeen-year history of educational services, the University of Cyprus has earned the respect of the international academic community and the appreciation of Cypriot society.

The programs of study at the University of Cyprus cover a wide spectrum of scientific areas, from the study of economy and technology, to the humanities and the arts and the letters.

The University of Cyprus admitted its first students in 1992.  Today it offers programs of study at the first (Ptychio), second (Masters) and third (Doctorate) cycle level.

First Cycle:

The first cycle program consists of four academic years of full-time study (240 ECTS) and leads to the award of a Ptychio. Each academic year consists of two semesters.


The Apolyterion (School Leaving Certificate) or equivalent qualification is a prerequisite for access to a first cycle program. Through the Pancyprian Entrance Examinations, Cypriot candidates are admitted to the various departments of the University.

Admission of other groups of students (i.e. Cypriots and Greeks of the Diaspora, International students etc) is carried out through internal procedures of the university, for example, on the basis of GCE or GCSE exams or other equivalent examinations.  Candidates may also be required to take exams set by the university.  Greek citizens enter the university on the basis of the Panhellenic Exams at a percentage equal to 10% of the Cypriot students.  For more information, interested parties may visit the website of Academic Affairs and Student Services (

Tuition fees for local and European first cycle students are paid by the state.

Second Cycle:

The second cycle consists of three to four semesters of full-time study (90-120 ECTS), and leads to the award of a Masters Degree.  A thesis is not an obligatory component of second cycle programs.  In case there is a thesis, the workload corresponding to it cannot be more than half of the overall workload of the program.  The minimum qualification for admission to a second cycle program is a Ptychio or equivalent qualification.

Third Cycle:

A third cycle program (duration: 3 to 4 academic years) leads to the award of a Didactoriko (Doctor of Philosophy Degree).  A Doctorate program consists of postgraduate courses corresponding to at least 60 ECTS, examinations, presentation of a research proposal to a three-member Committee, and the presentation of an original research Thesis to a five-member Examination Committee, consisting of at least one external member.  The minimum qualification for admission to a third cycle program is a Ptychio or equivalent qualification. A doctorate student who has a Masters or equivalent degree may be partially or fully exempted from the required courses.

(Tel: +357 22 894 000) Email: (

For more details and updates please refer to:

Open University Of Cyprus

The Open University accepted its first students in September 2006 in two postgraduate programs of study of distance learning: “Education Studies” and “Management of Health Units”.  Today, the Open University of Cyprus offers undergraduate and postgraduate programs as well as doctoral programs of study.

The Open University offers individuals the opportunity to pursue or complete university education in case they were not able to do so. Likewise, open and distance learning offers, to those who already hold a university degree, the possibility to continue their studies at the graduate level or even study different subjects aiming at career progression. Finally, the Open University through the provision of training and vocational programs will be offering individuals the opportunity to be kept informed about trends and concepts of interest in both professional and personal development.


Candidates may apply for a position at the Open University with the submission of a relevant application form.

For more details and updates please refer to:

Cyprus University Of Technology


The Cyprus University of Technology was established by a law passed by the House of Representatives in 2003 and admitted its first students in September 2007. The Cyprus University of Technology is a conventional type of a university that offers programmes of studies orientated mainly towards applied sciences.


For admission to the Cyprus University of Technology the procedures followed are those followed for admission to the University of Cyprus.

Tuition and fees for local and European first cycle students are paid by the state.PIO